Simon upon receiving Tug Personality of the Year Award

The British Tugowners Association (BTA) is pleased to announce that Simon Swallow, Chief Executive of The Shipowners’ Club has been awarded the esteemed “Tug Personality of the Year” award for 2023 by the Association.

Issued by the BTA, the award recognises those who have exceptionally contributed to the towage industry and shown dedication to the safety, people and operators of the towage industry.

The award was presented to Simon on 6 February at the International Chamber of Shipping (ICS) in London by the BTA’s Honorary President, Captain Tom Woolley RD, VR, MNM of Targe Towing.

Simon was lauded for his sincerity and personability as CEO of Shipowners P&I, fostering an atmosphere of collaboration and developing relationships across the towage industry. As a mutual, Shipowners P&I is there to service its members and operators from across the towage industry thanked him for his help and guidance through the Covid-19 pandemic and throughout his tenure as CEO of The Shipowners’ Club.

Simon’s career has always been dedicated to the maritime industry starting off as a ship broker before branching out into the towage industry in Hong Kong. His career at The Shipowners’ Club has stretched across three decades, initially joining the organisation as a senior underwriter.  It is a testament to his commitment and enthusiasm for towage that alongside driving The Shipowners’ Club’s strategic objectives he remains a first point of call for many who experience indemnity issues within towage.

Upon receiving the award Simon commented,

“I am truly delighted, proud and slightly overwhelmed to be the recipient of this annual award.” “The BTA is an amazing association with a proud history, and it is evident that the global towage industry looks at the BTA as its non-official governing body introducing safe working practices.” 

Simon is set to retire in August 2023 with Simon Peacock, presently CFO at Shipowner’s Club is set to take over the reins. The BTA expresses its warm and sincere thanks to Simon for his commitment and enthusiasm for aiding the towage industry with a personable manner.

Previous winners of the award include:

David Offin – Formerly of Caledonian Towage – 2019

Gijsbert de Jong – Bureau Veritas – 2021

Alison Taylor – Svitzer Marine – 2022

Please direct any further requests for information to William Rann.